Angela’s story

Dear Happy Buddha,

Enough with the silly headlines let me tell our readers what the day was really like.

Yours sincerely,

Angela

So here is my version 😊

Today we visited Vietnams University of Economics, as we entered the classroom there sat around 20 Vietnamese students staring at us, it was overwhelming yet intriguing at the same time. As we sat down we all introduced ourselves and the nerves subsided. We soon set ourselves up into groups. My group included Throung, Hunh and Phanm. As soon as our adventures began that morning I was welcomed immediately into their city and they assisted me with any questions and believe me most of my questions are quiet out of the ordinary. After visiting hotels such as the majestic, Caravelle and Rex Hotel and analysing the foyers of each hotel I soon learnt how different our lifestyles really are compared to back in Australia.
Many of the hotels had stores such as Gucci, marc Jacobs, Burberry and Givenchy. These stores were very familiar to me where as many of the students; this was there first time stepping into one of these department stores even though they go past them every day.
After the research was done, we then decided to go back to Huans house and finish the presentation. I was thrilled that he invited us back, as I have always found the different living in countries fascinating. After getting off the mopad (which was absolutely fantastic) we parked in the alley, at this point I didn’t know what to think and didn’t know whether or not these were houses. As I soon entered I could see that the houses were very tiny and did not consist of the usual Australian form of a house. It did not have a lounge room and both the brothers shared a room, sleeping on the floor with a layout bed each.
Although I was not used to this type of living, I could see that the students were and like they say ‘if you don’t know something, than it won’t hurt you’ and had a positive outlook on life. This is their lifestyle and way of living. Visiting Huans house has opened so many questions for me, it has gained me an insight of the real country of Vietnam not just the pretty scenery or yummy restaurants but the actual facts of Vietnam and what people feel and believe about their living in Vietnam.

See Buddha, a much better story 😊

One thought on “Angela’s story

  1. Great story Angela. Sounds like you have had an amazing day. See Hospitality as major was a good idea after all – look at all the great hotels that you were able to visit. Sounds like you have received some great hospitality from the students at UEH as well. Good luck with the presentations today

Leave a comment